About Share the Table

HomeAbout Share the Table

We are working to fight hunger in our community.

When you think about someone who is unable to put food on the table, you might be thinking of someone in extreme poverty, and you may believe that could never happen to your family. However, food insecurity and inaccessibility affect more people than you might realize.

About Share the Table in Hampstead, North Carolina

Food insecurity refers to a household’s inability to provide enough food for household members to lead active, healthy lives. It does not exist in isolation, as low-income families are affected by overlapping issues like lack of affordable housing, social isolation, health issues, high medical costs, and low wages. An estimated 1 in 9 Americans and 1 in 6 children are food insecure. Lay-offs, an accident on the job, or unexpected car maintenance can suddenly force a family to choose between buying food and paying bills.

Our Mission

Our mission is to respond to God’s call to nourish our community by providing food where there is hunger, fellowship where there is loneliness, and education to end the cycle of food insecurity.

Share the Table, Inc. is a faith-based nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization supported by seven charter churches, community churches, civic organizations, and local businesses in Pender and Onslow Counties in North Carolina. Through our free community meals, food pantry, and school backpack program, we feed over 1,000 Pender and Onslow County residents per week.

Since our inception in October 2010, we have seen a dramatic increase in the number of people served by this ministry. We experienced a 57% increase in food distribution from 2019 to 2020. For more information, please contact us.

Faith Community Partners

Faith Harbor UMC
The Gathering
St. Philip’s Episcopal
Chapel By The Bay
All Saints Catholic
Barlow Vista Baptist

Hampstead UMC
Renovation Church
Emma Anderson Memorial Chapel

Staff and Board of Directors:
Dawn Ellis – Executive Director
Milo Bannerman – Warehouse Operator
Mollie Grant – Chairperson
Carla Citarelli – Vice Chairperson
Michele Bennett – Treasurer
Shirleen Spencer – Secretary
Summy Rucker
Alan Sasser
Ashley Rose
Pat Fontana
West Stowman
Louis Cox
Renee Rhodes
Ken Badois
Jenny Mizelle